By the time I was 2 months pregnant with my second baby, I was shocked to discover that my ordinary clothes were no longer fitting me. I’d expected to pull my boxes of maternity clothes out of storage around my fifth month of pregnancy since that is when I started showing the first time I was expecting. Had I gained more weight this time? Was this baby going to be huge or something? What was going on?

Sooner than I’d wanted to, and with a feeling of resignation, I pulled on my first pair of maternity jeans since discovering I was pregnant again. The fact that the belly band was still roomy was a small consolation. Instead, I was fixated on the fact that I was only 2 months pregnant and already I’d had to put away my favorite non-pregnancy jeans. I’d worn those jeans for my entire first trimester during my first pregnancy. This was depressing.

I decided to do some digging around and locate my pregnancy journal from when I was carrying our first daughter. I was very relieved to find that my weight gain was not too much more this pregnancy as compared to my last one. But then why was my belly protruding so much earlier now? I managed to convince myself that maybe this baby was a boy and he was going to be big and tall like his father.

Then, a conversation with a friend who had just had her second baby changed everything. She too confessed that her belly had grown much more rapidly with her second pregnancy as well. Her doctor told her that when a woman’s abdominal muscles are stretched out already from carrying a baby, subsequent pregnancies tend to show a lot sooner than first pregnancies.

Okay, so I wasn’t going to deliver a behemoth baby, and the fact that at 2 months pregnant I was already resorting to maternity clothes was completely normal! I felt even better as I talked to more of my mommy friends who had similar experiences. One former co-worker admitted that at six weeks along with her second, she couldn’t bear to squeeze into her regular jeans and opted for the comfort of maternity ones. Hooray! I was not alone in my dilemma, which had turned out not to be a dilemma after all.

